Friday Hack Night: Adding HighCharts to Taverna Workbnech

by dashtban

Hi,

For this week Hack night I’m going to implement HighCharts for the Taverna Workbench.

Image

Taverna is a workflow management system which lets the users to drag and drop different service, connect them and compose workflows. It is being usually used in scientific areas for designing in silico scientific experiments.

I’ve seen the hardness of visualizing data in Taverna workflows because of the lack of tools or components which helps workflow designers to visualize the final data.

I selected HighCharts since it has a big set of charts and it supports Themes.

My aim is to create a component family so that designer can easily drag and drop the components to the workbench and visualize the data.

There may be a need to create few adopter services to change the data format into the appropriate format that my components will need to show a chart. I’m not sure about the details now. The component plugin is currently under development and it doesn’t support workflow annotations. So I may need to create workflows separately and create components around them not to loose the annotations.

Wish me luck and don’t forget the #FridayHackNights at Twitter

